Colombia Ratifies Kigali Amendment, Bringing Ratifications to 114

By Ntsako Khosa, Mar 02, 2021, 14:12 1 minute reading

The South American country’s ratification came into effect on February 25, 2021.

The Colombian city of Cartagena/Pixabay

Colombia has ratified the Kigali Amendment to the Montreal Protocol, becoming the 113th country, plus the European Union (EU), to ratify the global agreement to reduce HFC emissions.

The nation’s ratification came into effect on February 25, 2021, according to the United Nations website. Colombia joins other countries in the region like Chile, Costa Rica, Ecuador, Honduras, Mexico, Panama, Paraguay and Uruguay to ratify since the adoption of the Amendment in 2016.

As part of the Article 5 (developing countries) Group 1, Colombia is required to freeze HFC production and use in 2024, with an 80% reduction by 2045.

Fully implemented, the Kigali Amendment would avoid up to 0.4°C (0.7°F) increase in the global temperature by the end of the century, according to UN estimates.

The Kigali Amendment to the Montreal Protocol was enacted by 197 countries (plus the EU) in October 2016. It entered into force on January 1, 2019. Its goal is to achieve at least an 80% reduction in HFC consumption by 2047.

For an in-depth look at the Kigali Amendment, click here.

By Ntsako Khosa

Mar 02, 2021, 14:12

Related stories

Sign up to our Newsletter

Fill in the details below