First half of 2011 brings award opportunities for ammonia

By Sabine Lobnig, Jan 28, 2011, 12:25 2 minute reading

Applications under the ‘3rd German Refrigeration Awards’, which will be rewarding innovative and climate friendly RAC solutions, are accepted until 22 February. Additional award opportunities for the ammonia community include the IEA’s Rittinger award, an award of international reputation, as well as the UK's first ‘National Heat Pump Awards’. Do not miss the deadlines!

This year, companies and individuals involved in ammonia technology will have the opportunity to excel in different contests around the world and profile their latest innovations and accomplishments.


For the third year, the German government is holding the ‘German Refrigeration Awards’, a contest that already counts natural refrigerant winners in previous editions. Being part of the German national climate protection initiative, the contest intends to give an impulse to the development, application and combination of highly efficient components, climate friendly refrigerants and innovative concepts.

In Spring 2011, €52,500 will be attributed to the first three places in three categories, with the prize money ranging from €2,500 to €10,000. Companies are invited to submit their applications until 22 February 2011 in the following three categories:
  • Climate friendly air-conditioning of commercial buildings
  • Climate friendly use of refrigerating machines in food production
  • Other climate friendly refrigerant applications
The application documents can be accessed through


The IEA Heat Pumping Technologies Programme is seeking candidates for the ‘Peter Ritter von Rittinger award 2011’. The award recognises deserving individuals or teams that have distinguished themselves in the advancement of heat pumping technologies applications, market development and related dissemination activities with lasting international impact.

Again here, previous award editions (2005 and 2008) have recognised teams and individuals for their work with natural refrigerants. This year’s awards will be presented at the International Heat Pump Conference 2011, which will be held in May 2011 in Tokyo, Japan.

The award criteria and nomination form can be accessed through the page on the call for Rittinger award candidatures.

United Kingdom

In the UK, Warners Group Publications has launched the UK's first National Heat Pump Awards to recognise the best products, projects and professionals in the heat pump industry that is set to be one of the UK’s fastest growing industries.

There are 10 award categories for which entries are sought, covering for example installations (including air source and ground source for domestic or commercial use), product innovations and training initiatives.

The awards will be presented at an Awards Dinner to be held in June 2011, with the applications being accepted by 4 March 2011 through a dedicated registration page


By Sabine Lobnig

Jan 28, 2011, 12:25

Related stories

Sign up to our Newsletter

Fill in the details below